Battling your body and allergies!


About 6 years ago I was having issues with chronic sinus infections. What started as a once a year illness slowly became a 4 to 6 times a year issue. And if you’ve dealt with sinus infections you know how miserable they can make you. I’d then go to the doctor, he would tell me he was seeing a lot of drainage, give me some anti-biotics and they’d knock out the infection in a week or two.

Fast-forward to 2006 and I’m now in North Carolina and things don’t seem to be better, it’s even worse now! I’m constantly coughing up phlegm, feeling tired with light headaches. I discover the word “snough” where I have combined sneezes and coughs resulting in disgusting messes. The sinus infections are just as common and I’m at wits end to deal with this issue. A quick visit to the student clinic and finally, my doctor suggests what should have been recommended years earlier, “Have you ever been tested for allergies?” To this day, I thank this young doctor for making the diagnosis. A battery of allergy tests (you get pricked with 30+ allergens) shows up that I’ve very allergic to dust mites, pine pollen and a little bit to cats (bummer there!). Finally after all these years of suffering, there’s light at the end of the tunnel! And allergies can be insidious in how they creep into your life. I had never had major issues before but over the years, they just became part of my life. Given the prevalence of dust, they were actually unavoidable.

Since that diagnosis three years ago, I’ve been placed on constant anti-allergy medications, nasal steroids and allergy shots. While I can’t say I’ve got this medical issue licked, I’m managing the conditions better and my quality of life has improved. And for those of you who are dealing with issues of low energy, sinus headaches and constant phlegm/mucus, do get yourself checked out with an allergist! While there may not be an easy answer, living under those conditions is typically not acceptable and unlikely to get better. I still have good days and bad days but there’s no doubt that all the tests and treatments have been worth the effort up to this point. Best of luck to y’all suffering under these symptoms and go see a doctor!

This entry was posted in Health. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

